The objectives of the physics group are to study the theoretical and experimental fundamental properties of advanced nanomaterials by state of the art developments in nanoscale instrumentation and numerical simulations.

We study thin layers, heterostructures and nanostructures (1D, 0D) of materials presenting high interest for technological breakthroughs in electronics, opto-electronics and nanotechnologies. We combine theoretical and experimental research in several directions :

  • Growth and physics of heterostructures and isolated or self-assembled nanostructures (0D, 1D, 2D) of semiconductors
  • STM and EFM spectroscopy of nanostructures
  • Physics of surfaces, nanocrystals and semiconductor nanowires for nanoelectronics and photovoltaics
  • Dynamics of organics or biomolecular molecules in interaction with surfaces
  • Simulation of the electronic properties of high k-dielectrics and their growth on semiconductor surfaces
  • Simulation of the propagation of acoustic and optical waves in micro and nanostuctured materials: photonics and phononics
  • Picosecond acoustics: generation and detection of ultrafast acoustic pulses (~100 GHz) to study e.g. interfaces in nanostructured materials

On the theoretical side, we undertake multi-scale simulations using molecular dynamics, ab-initio (LDA) and semi-empirical (tight binding) calculations to predict the properties of nanostructures. On the experimental side, we develop scanning-probe microscopy in ultra-high vacuum and low temperatures (STM/STS, multi-probe STM, AFM/KPFM) in close link with the IEMN scanning-probe platform, and femtosecond lasers to generate short acoustic pulses in nanostructures. The group has access to the clean-room facility of IEMN (growth of materials, characterization, fabrication of electronic devices…).

The physics group is divided into five teams:

  • Physics of Waves, Nanostructures and Interfaces (EPHONI),
  • Electrostatics and Physics of Nanostructures,
  • Physics of Nanostructures and Quantum Devices,
  • Nanoacoustics,
  • NAMASTE : Computational Physics

Les objectifs du groupe consistent à comprendre les propriétés fondamentales de nanomatériaux avancés d’un point de vue expérimental et théorique, par des développements à l’état de l’art en instrumentation à l’échelle nanométrique ou en termes de simulations numériques.

Les thèmes de recherche du groupe physique concernent l’étude de couches minces, d’hétérostructures et de nanostructures (1D, 0D) de matériaux présentant de fortes potentialités d’innovation et de rupture technologique dans les domaines de l’électronique, de l’opto-électronique et des nanotechnologies. Ils couvrent des recherches théoriques et expérimentales dans les directions suivantes :

  • la croissance et la physique d’hétérostructures et de nanostructures isolées ou auto-assemblées (0D, 1D, 2D) de semiconducteurs,
  • la spectroscopie par effet tunnel et la détection fine de charges dans les nanostructures
  • la physique des surfaces, des nanoparticules et des nanofils semiconducteurs pour la nanoélectronique et le photovoltaïque,
  • la dynamique de molécules organiques ou biomoléculaires en interaction avec des surfaces,
  • la simulation des propriétés électroniques d’oxydes à  haute constante diélectrique et de leur croissance sur semiconducteurs,
  • la simulation de la propagation d’ondes acoustiques ou optiques dans des matériaux micro et nano-structurés : photonique et phononique,
  • l’acoustique picoseconde consistant à utiliser des sons ultra haute fréquence (~100 GHz) pour l’étude des interfaces dans les matériaux nanostructurés.

Sur le plan théorique, les principales techniques utilisées sont la simulation multi-échelle, la dynamique moléculaire, et les calculs ab initio (DFT) et semi-empiriques (liaisons fortes) de la structure électronique et des propriétés optiques des nanostructures. Sur le plan expérimental, le groupe est en lien étroit avec la plateforme de microscopies à  champ proche, dispose d’un laser femtoseconde pour la génération d’impulsions acoustiques ultra courtes, et utilise les moyens importants de la centrale de technologie de l’IEMN (bâtis de croissance, caractérisations multiples d’échantillons, fabrication de dispositifs électroniques, …).

Le groupe physique est divisé en six équipes:

  • Equipe de Physique des Ondes, Nanostructures et Interfaces (EPHONI)
  • Electrostatique et Physique des Nanostructures,
  • Physique des Nanostructures et des Composants Quantiques,
  • Nanoacoustique,
  • Physique Théorique – Structure Electronique,
  • Structure et Dynamique des Nanomatériaux (SDYNA).